#79 Forgotten Favorites

I heard the song when my car tuned into the only available station at that time. The song was 'Adikadi' from the movie 'Ponmaalai Pozhudhu'. Most of you wouldn't have heard it. But I listened to the song every day when the album was released in 2013. It was my favorite song that year. But, then the song disappeared from my life. No signs of it all these years until I heard it that day during my drive. All those memories came rushing back to me.

It happens to all of us. We all have a list of favorites - friends, restaurants, music bands, albums, movies, etc., which we once loved, but disappeared as we grew up. At one point, we don't even remember that thing or it being our favorite. It's like somebody wiped it out of our minds.

Why is this happening? Yes, we might've started to hate some of those things and our minds would've buried them deep into the abyss. But a majority of our favorites get lost as time passes by. We're exposed to new things and the old ones are pushed away from the list. They get sucked into a memory wormhole.

But then they come back to us when we aren't expecting them. We all would've experienced a time when we would've met a long-forgotten friend at a random place, had a great time, and on our way back thought "Wow! I had such a good time. We were so close at one point. I wonder what happened?".

The memory wormhole makes our lives interesting. It brings back forgotten favorites to create freshness in our lives. It makes us believe in life when we’re about to give up. We have a ton of favorites during our time on this planet. As we grow old, some stick and some don't. But, the memory wormhole picks up those that didn’t stick and brings them back to us to make our lives interesting.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts