#81 The ‘good luck’ song

Every time I boarded the bus to attend a semester exam, I listened to ‘Hotel California’ by Eagles for good luck.

I’m not sure how I got introduced to the song because back then I only had three types of friends: the one who listened only to Tamil songs, the one who listened to Backstreet Boys, Westlife, and Britney Spears, and only one person in the third category who never listened to any song. I occasionally came across Metallica from friend’s friends, but I never got heavy metal, so I gave it a pass.

But then, Hotel California happened. I’m not sure who introduced me to the song. But I remember listening to it sometime during my second year of college. Also, I have no clue on how listening to the song became a semester exam became a ritual.

So before reaching college on an exam day, I always played the 1994 live version of 'Hotel California'. I love the guitar solo and the vibe it creates. When the guitar solo ends, I close my eyes and feel the cheer of the crowd that take over the last note of the song. It makes me part of the crowd. It calms me.

Sometimes all it takes is a song or a scene from a movie or a quote from a book to prepare us for what we’re about to face. It creates a momentary distraction that makes us forget everything else. I’ve listened to other songs by Eagles. But, nothing made an impact in me like ‘Hotel California’. I don't have an explanation.

I love the last part of the lyrics which I interpret as an analogy for life (there are over four hundred interpretations for the lyric including some wild ones). I relate it to the fact that we can hate life, but life moves forward without our consent. We have no way but to live it.

Last thing I remember,
I was Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
"Relax, " said the night man
"We are programmed to receive
You can check out any time you like
But you can never leave"


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts