Skill-Based Matchmaking SUCKS

So Call of Duty: Vanguard released for Xbox and PC about a month ago and I've been playing it since it launched. Just so it's easier to type, I'm going to abbreviate skill-based matchmaking to SBMM. Now that's been said, I can finally rant about my experience.

"SBMM ruins the game. It's ruining the Call of Duty franchise"

This is what the community has been saying about Call of Duty's games recently, and I couldn't agree more. What I didn't know was how extreme the SBMM wwould actually be in Call of Duty Vanguard compared to Black Ops Cold War. And in BOCW the SBMM was strict. I load up the game at launch and the first two matches I had were really good. I was running and gunning, shredding everyone who was in my line of sight and earning all my streaks. The third match loads up and I start to play. Instantly I have people drop shotting and slide shotting me. The experience turned from owning noobs to being in MLG $1 million dollar tournament.

The more matches I continued to play in the Call of Duty: Vanguard, the stricter the SBMM got. I was facing people of the same skill as me and the tier above. It wasn't any fun. SBMM should not be in public matches, only in ranked matches. I loved the old Call of Duty games like Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops 2 because SBMM wasn't a thing. In all the matches you played, people in those matches were random and not based on skill level. With the recent Call of Duty games however, you cannot relax because of the stupid SBMM. It literally ruins the game and no matter how much the community complains about it, the developers and publishers don't remove it.

Rant over.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Kieran
All posts