Struggling to Find My Inner Writer

#100Days (Day 4/100)

Writing feels really difficult right now. I'm only on day 4 of the writing challenge I committed to and I'm already struggling. I spend way too much time thinking about what I might write about, and not enough time actually writing. 😖

I don't seem to have any trouble generating topic ideas. There is a list I keep adding stuff to every time a good idea pops into my head. But when it comes time to actually sit down and write, I look through my idea list and nothing speaks to me. Somehow I decide they are all too hard, too involved, require too much research, or I convince myself nobody will care if I write about that topic.

<sigh>

This is what I do to myself....all...the...time.

I'm sure I need to just stop overthinking it. Some days, I guess I need to sit down and simply write about whatever is on my mind. Like I'm doing now. I had a topic all picked out and I was ready to write about it today. But then my attention started to drift. I found myself doing other things like checking email and fiddling with my blog settings.

I'm a master procrastinator.

Hey, I could write about that! 😁

So I guess for today, this is all I've got. And therefore, this is all you get. Apologies...

Nah! I take back the apology. This is who I am right now and I'm trying to change it. I'm trying to be better. I'm not going to apologize for that. Struggling to find my voice, my inner writer, again is a process I just need to go through. Hopefully I'll come out the other end better for it. I believe I will, and that's why I'm doing this.

Enjoy the process, and Embrace the Suck!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from MaudMan's Musings
All posts