A bit of housekeeping

I noticed it's been about a year since I've written anything here. That's been for a number of reasons. For the most part, I've never quite been sure of what to make of this platform. How does it complement the blogging features of my personal website? And until very recently (as in, today), I also did not grasp the flexibility or customizability of Listed.to. I think the most similar platform I found to Listed.to was Write.as, which does not appear to be under active development.

Anyhow, it's fairly simple to customize the look of this thing with a CSS note. I haven't done anything fancy, just hidden post text on the main page and customized some colors. I'll probably adjust the font next, but there's no rush.

My intent moving forward is to treat this more as an open journal than anything else. Obviously, very private thoughts are kept private. Without search indexing or public listing on Listed.to, I'm guessing any audience here would be friends or family. For stuff I don't mind going super public - like students, colleagues, and journalists reading - I'll use the blog function on my website, although those posts will be primarily related to work. Or wine, if I get back into the habit of regularly taking tasting notes and putting them into my phone or computer. That reminds me, I've got some good notes from a few Japanese wineries to add...

I'll probably crosspost some of the personal and wine-related topics here. Other posts are likely to range from a collection of thoughts on a particular subject to lists of things. Setting and updating post dates is a simple feature. So are emailing subscribers and publishing private posts that don't appear on the blog itself!

Anyhow, onward and upward!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Michael
All posts