Don't get attached to your reality.

Disclaimer : Unraveling thoughts based on experiences and conversations with people that are close to me, some research through motivational videos and how to change your life. Read with a pinch of salt. Feedback will always be appreciated.

Hello,
I am socially dissociated person in general. Diagnosed with Adult ADHD & Anxiety, with fair share of traumatic incidents throughout my life. I have played a part on both sides of the coin, someone who is attached to the reality and is finding difficult to let go what made me, me in that point of time. Similarly, on the other side, proud to let things go and move on from things on a whim, only to find myself taking a U-turn just to make sure what I left behind was sustained in its own way.
The reason I went with “Don’t get attached to your reality”, is simply because that’s the easiest way to get better and also the most troublesome skill to learn. It sounds really simple and from a point of view, it could be don’t settle down to your rock bottom, struggle and grow, evolve beyond measure. However, at the same time, its comfort and leisure, its being content, its being successful, and winning everything in life.
To be honest, this thought process is a bit toxic. However, so are most things, no matter what advice you take, as long as its in moderation, its sensible, however, as long as you take it verbatim and stop enjoying the process and going with the flow towards something better, anything in excess is toxic, anything without context is going to be worse after a certain time.
Back on the topic, Don’t get attached to your reality, your present, where you work, your schedule, process, feelings, and so on. Your reality is made up based on your perception and understanding procedure. I mention understanding procedure as I have realised that everyone I get in touch with have their own procedure of understanding, their own way of taking in any conversation and dismantling it inside their mind, it could be emotionally sensitive, it could be more logical, it could be perfectly balanced or any sort of mixture in between. Everyone’s procedure is based on how they look at reality, which comes into mindset, a positive growth mindset, a realistic mindset, a stoic mindset, a pessimistic mindset, a nihilistic mindset, etc. All provide a certain procedural guideline for understanding and interacting with reality.
This provides a different way of attachment to your reality, most people are extremely loyal to where they are, its difficult to break it, its difficult to look for something else, even though people love watching TV Shows, Movies, reading books, etc. that gives the mind a glimpse of a different reality to imagine while being engrossed into a certain form of entertainment. We dont really give up on our reality or move somewhere else easily.
I have personally given up on my reality multiple times, I have been suicidal more times that I can admit to. However, one of the earliest and most scary memories I have of my reality which I still consider my total rock bottom, I came to a point where I had to either give up on living, or give up on my reality. After being pushed here and there, losing more than I could afford, I decided to give up on my reality.
I was honestly extremely attached to my reality till that point, I did not know the way outside, I did not know if anything else even existed, my thought process was pretty much a mixture of nihilism and pessimism, and no matter how I wanted to tackle the next day, the mindset made sure a loop existed that kept me stuck in a particular script. Similar to how some people explain manifestation, if you think and imagine it properly, your actions will change to manifest that thought process. Hence, if you are stuck in a mindset, your reality won’t change, as your actions are made up through a sequence of understanding procedures based on your mindset, stuck, infinitely.
Some people do break out from their reality from time to time, or pretend to be in a different one while keeping their true reality running parallel to their pretentious existence based on what is accepted as normal. I still have some days where I am extremely hard working and efficient my day, or just extremely happy, or just sad, a day where my mindset is too tired to control and some small or major thing leads to a different one happening for a short amount of time. I guess, it can be considered as a way to train yourself.
Why is it essential? to not get attached to your reality? Simply, it suffocates your growth, even if its trying and failing 10 times and getting attached to failing and accepting the fact that its difficult to very difficult to nearly impossible to achieve the next step, or it could just be succeeding and getting stuck there, feeling content and losing the drive, getting attached to that reality. It doesnt always end horribly, its just being stable and satisfied, it doesnt have to be come worse every time. However, the alternate is more exciting, to never settle down, to never get complacent, and to never give up or give in.
It helped me to change the course of my life from a premature end, to somewhere I still have some hope left, some growth ingrained into my mind, some thirst to learn and understand people and at the same time, I respect myself more.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Akshat Pande
All posts