personal essay

There is something so familiar about this tale, not because it was recited to me more times than I can count, but because of its relatability when it comes to navigating the world as a woman. Reading Little Red Riding Hood feels like listening to my mothers cautionary speeches each time I went out to play. I find it odd how comforting it is to be reminded of a time where I was treated as fragile and delicate. These days I would be more inclined to identity with Carol Anne Duffy's take on the tale.

I have decided to take a look at the original by The Grimm Brothers, Little Red-Cap by Carol Anne Duffy and "The Werewolf" by Angela Carter. What I find most interesting is how the portrayal of women differs between these interpretations. I noticed how the portrayal of women is inherently tied to the power dynamic involving the wolf. It seemed like the common denominator was that women were like putty, bending and shaping themselves to fit their environment, to fit a mold that wolf and their superiors had casted.

In the original Grimm tale Little Red Riding Hood is unaware of the danger that she's in, even though her mother had warned her. She was utterly naive, as she frolicked into a field to pick flowers for her grandmother. Enter the theme of superficiality. They were so beautiful that she just couldn't resist. For some reason this scene reminds me of a sexist joke you would hear one guy say to another in a crowded bar. Something along the lines of "Why do women live longer than men? Because shopping never causes heart attacks, but paying the bills does.". Because of this distraction, the wolf is able to sneak into the cabin and gobble up her grandmother. Luckily for Little Red Riding Hood, her male saviour (the hunter) came to the rescue, the end. Simple, right? Thats what I thought the first couple times I re-read this, until it clicked. Notice how this girl does not have a name, she has no true identity. The one that she does have, is entirely based on this little red cap that suits her so well, here is where I noticed this recurring theme of superficiality. This observation raised the question of how important the opinion of others is regarding our physical appearance when trying to grasp a sense of identity. It made me wonder if I could see my identity as my own.

"The Werewolf" by Angela Davis seems to focus on the theme of deception, which is why the wolf and the grandmother are the focus. We can only assume that "the child" she refers to would be Little Red Riding Hood. Though she hardly has any recognisable features, instead of a red cap she wears a scabby coat of sheepskin. She isn't gullible or naive, instead she's brave and dapper. The child has no other choice because of the danger that she's exposed to. Her dystopian environment leaves no room for flower picking or innocence. Upon killing the wolf and putting the pieces together, the child realises that hat it was actually her grandmother that had attacked her. The child is portrayed as a detective that can spot deception, unlike in the original tale.

I have left my personal favorite for last, which is Little Red-Cap by Carol Anne Duffy. Little Red-Cap is portrayed as a 16 year old who allows herself to a sexual being that longs after lustful toxicity. She is aware that wolf is bad, but cant seem to help herself. I wonder wether she was well beyond her year or if she was groomed by the wolf. The wolf was clearly older, and struck me as a recognisable archetype, or should I say stereotype? He was a mysterious poet, was well read and had this sexual magnetism to him. It seemed clear to me that in imbalanced power dynamic is what lured Little Red-Cap in and trapped her there for all those years. Though eventually, she outgrows the relationship and finds freedom in a field of flowers. Perhaps this is the same field that Little Red Riding hood got lost in when on her way to grandmothers cabin. It is connection like these that add tention and opposition to my reading and interpretation.

To conclude, each interpretation is interesting in its own way because it act as a window which gives us a view into what its like to be a woman.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Poppy
All posts