Projek Masjid 9: Masjid Asy-Syakirin (Masjid KLCC)

Tuesday, 7 Nov 2023


Image 1
Image 2
Image 3
Image 3

I'm currently at Masjid Asy-Syakirin, close to the KLCC. Actually, I'm waiting for Maghrib time; it's going to be in, like, 7-8 minutes. Other than that, I had a long day spending my time at the conference โ€” the MPOB conference. It was a very tiring day. I was there for the poster presentation. I have, like, a long list of things I want to tell you, but I'll probably record another video for that.

Other than that, this mosque does remind me of the mosque in Medina. The design is definitely inspired by that mosque. However, I'm quite surprised that this mosque is very empty, almost lifeless, unfortunately. But I don't know; maybe it's just around this time when there are a lot fewer people than during the other fard prayer times. I think I mentioned in the last video, but a mosque with a community around it is definitely different than a mosque in the middle of the city center, where it's just a place for people to come in and pray, instead of for people living there. So, it's definitely two different vibes for the mosque.

So other than that, you can actually see that tower from over here. Yeah, those are the Petronas Twin Towers. Also, there's a lot of construction going on; I don't know what they're building. To be frank, I didn't know that this mosque was really close โ€” literally next to Suria KLCC. I've been to it lots of times, and I didn't even know that it's actually connected to the mosque in a sense (as in there's a walkway) because I thought you have to, like, go through a separate way (cross a wide road or something).

It does remind me of the mosque in terms of the emptiness, similar to the mosque in Rome. If I'm not mistaken, it was the Grand Mosque of Rome. Unfortunately, the mosque was very empty; they have a grand main hall, but they don't use it just because, I think, it's going to cost them unaffordably high electricity bills. So they just use a smaller room for praying because there are very few people coming to the mosque, unfortunately. I hope that's not the case for this one. Yeah, it does look very empty. I think it would be busy for Friday prayers, but probably not during fard prayer. I think it's just that there are not that many people frequently in this place.

So other than that, take care.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Projek Masjid
All posts