Projek Masjid 12: Masjid Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin (Masjid Besi)

Thursday, 30 Nov 2023


Building
Interior Door
Dome
Interior
Model
Exterior door

Assalamualaikum. Today, I find the weather quite beautiful if you take a moment to appreciate it. It's misty, almost foggy, which, in my opinion, looks amazing because I love this type of weather. So, on that note, I'd like to share something. I recently visited a mosque, where I didn't record anything; instead, I took pictures. It's one of the coolest mosques I've ever visited, primarily because I've always wanted to see it. However, to outsiders, it may not appear as impressive because it competes with another mosque nearby. This mosque is actually Masjid Besi, if I'm not mistaken. It's located close to Masjid Putra. Between the two, Masjid Putra tends to attract more attention, but Masjid Besi is definitely larger in capacity; it's about twice as big. Masjid Putra accommodates around 15,000 people, whereas Masjid Besi can hold approximately 24,000.

One thing that surprised me is how modern it looks inside. It's quite different from a traditional mosque, even the ablution room is modern; it's something I've never seen before. Another surprising aspect is its openness; it's like a complex where you can do various activities, which is quite remarkable. I believe it's one of the best-maintained mosques in Malaysia, likely because it's in Putrajaya, a federal territory. One notable feature is the cooling system; despite not having visible air conditioning, it maintains a pleasant temperature. It utilizes gas district cooling, which is similar to district heating but for cooling. The dome may seem ordinary from the outside, but from the inside, it's spectacular. I took a picture of it, and I'm considering posting it. The prayer hall is spacious, with some movable or adjustable fans inside. It's very well-maintained, and there are staff available even outside of prayer times. I had a bit of trouble finding the main entrance, but a staff member kindly guided me.

There are parking lots available, which is understandable given Malaysia's car-centric culture. They're located in the basement to accommodate worshippers, especially for Friday prayers and Eid prayers. Overall, the mosque's uniqueness surprised me. It's comfortable, spacious, and well-designed. They've incorporated architectural elements from other famous buildings, such as the Santiago Bernabรฉu Stadium in Madrid and the Bibliothรจque nationale de France in Paris. It truly impressed me because it's unlike any mosque I've seen before. I believe there's also a Qibla walk, but I didn't get to visit it. Perhaps someday, I'll explore the entire mosque. Thank you for listening, and I hope to share more with you in the future.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Projek Masjid
All posts