There is only one battle

There is only one battle in life.

It’s not me versus my enemies.

It’s not me versus my friends or family.

It’s not me versus the world, economy, or government.

It’s not even me versus intangibles like time, energy, or intelligence.

It’s not me versus my competition - in business, in sports, in school, in anything. They don’t matter.

There is only one battle.

It is me versus me.

This is the only battle.

Everything else is an excuse.

And that’s liberating.

In any area of life, I know if I’m the best version of myself possible.

In any action, I know if I did right not based on someone else’s arbitrary rules but on my own moral compass.

In any effort whatsoever, I know if I did my best even if the outcome was not an external victory.

Sometimes my thinking slips into worrying about what someone else might be thinking about me or what the scoreboard says.

That’s human. That’s the default way society has conditioned me to think. But it’s incorrect.

Giving my agency to society is a guaranteed path to misery and mediocrity.

Taking responsibility for myself is a guaranteed path to self-control and mastery.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Ross Zeiger
All posts