Gratitude #1: Work

It's a wet, grey Monday morning, so obviously no better time to write about how I'm grateful for my job.

I've worked at Yardi Systems for the last five years. In that time, I've been promoted twice, and I earn more money in my current position than I ever earned at anything Magic-related. I've been able to work at home for the last fifteen months, and business hasn't faltered despite the unprecedented chaos and uncertainty that permeates pandemic life. My colleagues are good people -- intelligent, helpful, and friendly -- and we work well as a team.

To be sure, there are things I don't love about my job. I am regularly client-facing, and in a job that requires problem-solving, customer service, and relationship management. These are difficult things for a sensitive introvert like myself. All the same, every job has drawbacks, and if I had to choose the drawbacks my job has, I'd certainly choose those over the drawbacks of other jobs I've had.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Nicholas Sabin
All posts