ULF Diary 11/28/2022 - 8x20 Siloam Springs Lone Tree Landscape

Welcome to my Ultra Large Format Photography Journal.  I share my personal thoughts and experiences with my family and friends in the hope they will gain a deeper understanding of who I am and how much I love creating ultra large format contact prints.  I consider this process to be the ultimate medium for self-expression. Ultra large format contact printing is slow, contemplative, and never needs to change today or a thousand years from now.  It's already perfect, and no improvements are desired or needed.  If you want to watch some videos of me and Tim Jr. working in the darkroom, then you can follow our YouTube Darkroom Diary, where we bring you behind the scenes with us. 


ULF Diary 11/28/2022

One of the most underrated things about ultra large format photography is failure.

Most people only show their "winners," but it takes courage and a strong desire for personal growth to show your "losers."

This 8x20 ULF winter landscape of a lone tree along Siloam Springs was a fun experience, but there are several problems.

Lone Tree at Siloam Springs © Tim Layton (www.timlaytonfineart.com)

I had a lot of fun working on this image, but I knew when I created it that it wasn't a keeper, but I followed through with it because I enjoy being outside, and I had the free time to relax and enjoy the process. 

This image was the last one of the day when the best light and fog had already left.  I knew that, but I didn't care. I knew this wasn't a "keeper," and I still enjoyed every minute of it. 

I love the sloping hillside on the right, but the composition of the tree isn't quite right.  This is the beauty of ultra large format photography.  It is a contact printing process, and there is nowhere to hide.  You either get it right in the camera, or you don't.  There is no "Photoshop" to fix bad choices.  I love it! 

I plan to return to this location the next time there is early morning fog or when it snows.  There are enough good things here to lure me back to try again.  Hopefully, next time, there will be some cows or maybe even some wildlife in this scene.  

I love defoliated winter trees.  I feel like the trees have metaphorically shed their robes, and they are showing us their soul. 

You can follow my YouTube Darkroom Diary, where Tim Jr. and I bring you behind the scenes in our darkroom, where we work on our latest Ultra Large Format projects. 

Tim


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from unnoticed.catnap
All posts