2023 Personal Health Score Year in Review

Another year of health tracking is in the books.

Yes, my spreadsheet is obsessive.

But I love it because it allows me to objectively see how my health is changing from one year to the next.

Here’s what I learned tracking a dozen health metrics for 365 days in a row in 2023:


image

My personal health score for 2023 was 97%.

Changing one cell shows the same display for 2022.

That score was 91% (using my 2023 targets).

There was clear improvement in all areas except for sleep, which was unchanged.

Daily Average Stats:

2022

  • Nutrition: 4.5 servings fruits/veggies
  • Sleep: 7.2 hours
  • Steps: 9,898
  • Exercise: 14.6 minutes

2023

  • Nutrition: 4.7 servings fruits/veggies
  • Sleep: 7.2 hours
  • Steps: 10,760
  • Exercise: 20.1 minutes

The stat I'm most proud of is exercise.

This past year, I made it a point to incorporate more zone 2 cardio and soccer in addition to strength training.

As a result, my average daily exercise minutes increased by nearly 50% from 2022 and I averaged nearly 2.5 hours a week.

Daily Habits Tab:

I added a tab to my spreadsheet that summarizes and conditionally formats several habits on a daily basis.

Its purpose is to detect more subtle patterns like which days of the week I performed better than others. This is useful for targeting opportunities for improvement.

image

For example, I learned:

  • I eat significantly fewer fruits/veggies on the weekends
  • My least active day of the week is Sunday
  • I tend to eat less protein on Sundays
  • I tend to eat more fat on Saturdays

If I close these gaps, I will improve my weekly averages.

2024 Health Targets:

For 2024, my average daily targets are the same except for one:

  • Nutrition: 4.5 servings (up from 4)
  • Sleep: 7.4 hours
  • Steps: 10,000
  • Exercise: 18 minutes

Sleep is the area with the biggest gap between where I am (7.2 hours per night) and where I want to be (~7.5).

Current Tracking Tools:

Here's what I'm using to track these metrics (before copying into Excel):


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Trying Not to Suck at Life
All posts