Preparing For a Week in San Diego

Preparing For a Week in San Diego

I have a couple of friends down San Diego way. One has been a helpful partner in some amateur radio activities and the other was a few classes ahead of me in college.

I plan to try to connect with them while I'm in San Diego for work. My amateur radio friend has turned out to be a leading light in a unique aspect of amateur radio, which is really such a broad field that I think of it as a hobby of hobbies.

My college friend and I graduated degrees in geology from the same university. That's not the only intersection in our timelines, though: he married on the same date as I did. It has been very enjoyable to catch up with him from time to time so this rare opportunity to kibbitz over a cup of coffee is not to be missed.

I do enjoy San Diego. Last time I visited I was so taken with it I cracked open Zillow to look at property prices...and quickly exited that website! Prices seemed astronomical, but then, they seem very high in many places.

Getting together with leaders in our national association will be enjoyable and educational. I am looking forward to it.

My suits are altered and cleaned. I have some new shirts and a new tie. I'll pull out the shoe bin and find a comfortable pair of shoes I can wear with slacks or jeans when I'm not in a suit. I've picked out the portable radio I'll take with me and plan to find time this week to program in many of the local repeaters in San Diego County.

More from Tom Salzer
All posts