Being wrong

I was extremely cynical about the UK's reopening plan. Although, based on all their other incompetence, I very much doubt whether the johnsonites either knew what they were doing or cared whether they killed a lot of people, it looks as if I was wrong.

CV19 is not over, but it looks as if many of my fears were wrong. Looking at the cases per million shows that there was a significant spike but things are now getting much better. The UK is still very poor compared to, say, Europe, but things are improving. The UK's cumulative death rate per million is still world-leading, unfortunately, but the death rate per million is now fairly close to average.

Sadly, looking at that last graph shows very clearly just how poorly the johnsonites did at keeping people alive in the two big waves. That's why I'm so cynical: getting it wrong in the first wave might have been excusable, but getting it more wrong in the second wave was murder.

Still, in the case of the recent reopening I think I was, probably, wrong, and I'm glad to have been so.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from 100 suns
All posts