Dropping the reader into the scene

Set the reader up in a few sentence for whatever you are describing

The mahogany box was sitting right there. The polished wooden surface shone with every ray of light that touched it as if it was perfectly positioned there to attract anyone who laid eyes upon it.

The family heirloom of the famously wealthy Deanne family had gone missing. It was a lavenderstone, one of the rarest pieces of jewels in the world, gently placed in a cushioned box decorated with intricate golden accents.

As the story goes, the lavenderstone was a jewel embedded in one of Queen Marie Antoinette's necklaces which after her execution, had disappeared. While some believe that it was stolen and then sold for money, others believe that the piece of jewellery found it's owners, our family being one of the many.

As soon as I found the box, I let the others know immediately. Apart from the relief of finding a valuable piece of history, I was also partly excited that this deed might make me the new and most importantly the worthiest keeper of the heirloom. The whole family gathered in the hall where my father, the current keeper, stood in front of everyone in order to pass the box on to the next person who would take up the responsibility. The tradition was that the eldest child of the current keeper was given the responsibility. Still,I crossed my fingers and hoped for a slight change in the family tradition so as to hear my name but what happened was expected, Hannah, my elder sister was given the box.

I knew that she was the best choice for this job. Hannah is strict and very responsible. She never got into trouble as a kid and would make sure no one around her would get into any mischief. She always believed in following the rules but the very fact that I would never get to own such a precious item made me quite upset. I wasn't greedy, I just liked the idea of keeping something unique.

Hannah walks up to the front of the room and takes the box. Promising that she will keep good care of it, she takes it and places it in a glass case in the vault.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Anupriya
All posts