Creative Writing Based on a Childhood Memory

The Boy Who Lied

"Bedtime!" My mother screamed. I pleaded and begged her to let me stay up past my bedtime to watch the football game. At the time I was 7 and I had no idea what the consequences of lying were. "Please!" I requested. "No!" My mother responded. As a child, I had no option but to go to my room and obey her orders. I desperately wanted to watch the football match. I wanted to support my favourite football team and cheer them on. I was willing to do anything, and so, I displayed my earliest memory of deceit. It was a decision between obeying my mother’s order and transgressing her command. My passion for the game led me to make the biggest mistake of my life.

I stayed up past my bedtime to watch the football game when suddenly, THUMP! THUMP! THUMP! I could hear the descending footsteps of my mother slowly approaching me. I was in a state of shock and froze with fear. I had no time to react and go run and hide. "What are you still doing awake!" questioned my mother with great anger and ferocity. At this moment it was either get punished or lie my way to freedom. I picked the latter. "There was no water in my room so I came downstairs to get water," I replied. I thought I was free. I thought I had lied my way to freedom, however, I had no idea what the consequences of a lie were. My mother yelled at my helper who kept assuring my mother that she had in fact put a water bottle in my room. I was overcome with guilt and regret. I had no idea that my lie would cause others unhappiness and make their lives harder. I had no idea what was to come…

12 o'clock. Silence. Darkness. "LIAR!" a voice screeched scaring the hair on my skin into an upright position. "You will face the consequences of your crimes!" a voice echoed. It was my helper who had appeared to have gone through a brutal metamorphosis. She stood in front of me, this hideous creature of ghoulish hair, devilish eyes, monstrous skin. "I'm sorry!" I screamed. I apologised over and over again. At this point, I had learnt my lesson which was that all lies have a consequence.

The sun slowly started rising above the horizon. "It was all just a dream?" I questioned. I was ecstatic and slowly went downstairs for breakfast only to discover the horror of a note saying "LIAR!"


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Arav
All posts