Task 3

Members of the board,

Please find below my proposal to why "The role of art in developing empathy for people and groups who live lives that are different to your own."

I believe that art plays a vital and massive role in developing empathy in us human and groups of people different to ourselves. Art is able to create an image within ourselves which make it easier for ourselves to reflect and put ourselves into other peoples shoes to see what their experiences may be like and how they differ to ours.

There are numerous examples of this such as the book "Whose life is it anyway?" In this book we are introduced to a character who is quadriplegic and wishes to be euthanised. This is book is a sort of autobiography in the sense that we are able to see things form his perspective and really see the life through the characters shoes. At first I myself was dismissive of people who would like to be euthanised or simply wanted to stop living because of their living condition, however, after reading this book I was able to open my eyes and was open to the idea of euthanasia as the book really helped me better understand what people around the world may be going through and how sometimes an option such as euthanasia can be a blessing to them. The book really helped me empathise with the character and his situation and changed my perception and mindset.

Another example of how art was can be used to develop empathy amongst groups that differ to your self would be

(not finished)


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Arav
All posts