Tea Entry #5: Red Date Tea

Today I made Red Date Tea!

I used red dates to make my brew. I put 1 tablespoon of red dates into my tea infuser inside my teapot. I boiled the water to 100 degrees Celsius and let the water and dates simmer for 5 minutes. The result? A mellow hue of yellow—the exact color I was looking for!

While the color was not as vibrant as other teas, it made its impact in flavor. It had an extremely unique taste profile—slightly bitter, perhaps even slightly sweet? Well, to me it's not "my cup of tea". But to my mother, who was curious about my tea curiosity, claimed that to her it was exactly her "cup of tea". The truest way to know for yourself if red date tea is your "cup of tea" is to try it yourself! I encourage you to try red date tea as well! Perhaps it might be a perfect tea for you.

Of course, as all teas do, red date teas are known beyond their exquisite taste. Having been widely consumed in many parts of Asia, red dates are renowned for their health benefits in traditional Chinese medicine for centuries. With daily doses of essential minerals, red dates contain:

  • High amounts of vitamin C
  • Potassium
  • Iron
  • Fiber
  • And More!

If you want to read the article yourself, this is where I got the information: https://sgpaincaretcm.com/the-incredible-health-benefits-of-red-dates-tea/

Red dates are also known to be fantastic for post-pregnancy mothers, in which red dates assist in replenishing blood and energy levels.

If you want to read the article yourself, this is where I got the information: https://www.hatchery.com.sg/blogs/baby-guides-singapore/red-date-longan-tea-singapore

While by far, red date tea is not my "favorite" cup of tea, I am amazed by just how nutrient-rich a single drink can be. It blows my mind how a simple drink is essentially a potion of vitality for humans. From adding daily supplements of potassium and iron, to rejuvenating postpartum mothers, red date tea truly lives up to its fame in traditional Chinese medicine. Of course, drinking or eating too much of one thing is bad, but I believe drinking tea, of any kind, once in a while could improve your daily lifestyle. I certainly recommend it!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Ayden
All posts