AD21//Day 22 out of 25

THE VIGIL IS IN PREPARATION

What are you doing?
I'm waiting.
For what?
12:30.
Is something going to happen at 12:30?
Nothing. The clock just moves.
Why are you waiting for 12:30?
It doesn't feel right to go in just after I ate lunch.
Oh. I don't get it.
Four more minutes.

You, what are you doing here?
I'm waiting.
For what?
My girlfriend.
Oh. Is she going to pick you up?
We haven't met yet.
Ah, I see. Is this one of those times wherein you dated online and finally decided to meet in real life?
No. Today's the first time we'll see each other's faces.
Then how do you know she would be your girlfriend?
I don't. I'll just know it when I see it. I have faith.
Is that so.

How long are you going to wait here for?
Until I see her.
What if she doesn't come?
You see, that type of thinking is what makes things harder. If I don't believe she exists, then I won't see her!
Then it's just some form of delusion?
It's called a manifestation. I'm manifesting for my girlfriend to come to me right now.
Is that so.
Yeah, it is so.

Hey, it's already 12:30.
You know what, I'll wait for another five minutes.
I see you're hitting the snooze button.
Yeah, I guess I am.
Why didn't you go in?
I'm not ready, not after what you said.
You shouldn't really let what I said affect you.
But it did, and here we are.
You should go in now. Or else there won't be any seats left.
Then I'll just sit here with you instead, waiting for your girlfriend with you.
Eh? Don't do that. What if she thinks you're me?
If you truly have faith, then believe that she will recognize you.
Oh. Yes, I believe. I'm sure she'll recognize me.

Do you ever feel like no matter what you do, nothing ever changes?
Every day. But I also am afraid that no matter what I do to keep things the way they are, it will keep changing, or worse, disappear when I'm not looking.
Ah, I see. The opposite side of the spectrum then.
But you know, is that feeling really bad?
It is.
Why?
It hurts.
I understand.
Then why did you even doubt?
I was just kind of hoping someone would, you know, contradict me.
I'm not that person. I'm sorry.

It's 12:35. You should go in now.
No, I'm too lazy. I'll wait for the next five.
You shouldn't delay what you want to do.
What do I want to do?
Weren't you waiting for a certain time to go in? Because you just ate?
I don't think I'll ever be ready though.
I think you are. You've been waiting for some time now.
It didn't feel like I waited. It felt like I was distracting myself. With you.
Time still passed though. You don't have to wait in silence again.
Like you, waiting for your girlfriend?
Yeah, the process of waiting doesn't have to like watching paint dry. Talking to you is also waiting.
Why can't I just get up from here and move...
Should I pull you up? Do you feel like your ass is glued to the stairs?
It's 12:39. For some reason I'm terrified of the next minute.
Nothing will change though. After you have finished waiting.
Wrong. I would have to go in because what's I said I will.
...

It striked. Go in, now.
Pull me up?
... There.
... Hey, don't you wanna go in with me? Surely your girlfriend as fated as you say would only come if you're out here? Like fate?
No. I'll stay. I've been anticipating for so long after all.
So long that you don't really want to move?
... Yeah.
Hey, thanks.
About what?
Pulling me up.
That's nothing
It was everything.
It's not. It really isn't.
... Then, farewell.
You too.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from 86
All posts