Grandpa: 2023-04-05

“Find the box. Sort it. Understand. Find her. Burn it all.”

This was the text message I found unsent on my grandfathers phone to me. Grandma had been missing for just under 24 hours and a Silver Alert had just kit everyone’s phone in Florida, Georgia, and Alabama. His phone had buzzed loudly from the cracks of his old lounging chair.

Grandma hadn’t been able to find it.

Find her. How would he have known she would disappear when he died? He knew he was going to die - he had told me as much the day before. “Harry - I think tomorrow is going to be a wet one.” He laughed and coughed and gasped and I nearly burst into to tears. “Save it for tomorrow,” he said hoarsely.

Find the box. I had and I’ve been sitting here for hours looking at what is - essentially - the confessions of a serial killer. Why me? He knew I would have to report it. I’ve been Detective Stride for two years. Why would he keep this?

Understand? That would be the hardest of all.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Matthew DeRoche
All posts