Script to Direct Speech

Amber stood dead centre on a smooth cement path surrounded by a nearly uniform alignment of shrubs and patches of grassy undergrowth with an expression which seemed to reflect utter awe. This idea was contradicted just in a matter of seconds.
"Don’t get me wrong, this is a breathtaking area but don’t you think it’s time to head back? I never thought I’d say this but the air is too fresh and I’d just like to be alone with my coffee right now," Amber mutters. She then proceeds to toss her keys around her fingers in an impatient manner.
"Pardon my French but that is absolutely absurd. Your grandma is taking time out of her day to take you on this walk and you just want to go home?" Estelle, Amber's grandmother, exclaims. She is clearly upset.
"No, grandma, it’s not you, I’m just not used to the supposed green glow of the countryside, you know."
"No Amber, I do not know dear," Estelle says affectionately yet unapologetically.
"It’s just that we see this area in two completely different ways," Amber says while containing her urge to aggressively roll her eyes.
'I can not for the life of me figure out what you mean, sweetheart," Estelle states.
Amber sights and collects herself. "Okay, let's look at it like this. Describe this patch of grass for me will you?"
Estelle lets out a broad grin and makes little clapping motions with her pruning hands. "Oooo this is my cup of tea. Would you prefer detail or a vague description?"
"Just describe the grass in any way you'd like, Oma," Amber says, now unable to stop herself from rolling her eyes.
"Well, this entire patch is perfectly verdant, each strand of grass a luscious, raw green," Estelle pronounces with elegance, pausing for a breath of fresh air. "The tips are softly swaying along with the brisk breeze."
"That's a lovely description but all I see is a bunch of grass standing next to each other and frankly, it's a little too muddy for my taste," Amber remarks.
Estelle nods in a reproving manner and mentions how Amber should appreciate the magical, natural beauty around her. This note of disappointment is followed by Amber mentioning that she is not an outdoorsy kind of person followed by her going on about how she doesn't even know what verdant means.
Estelle smiles. "Oh, it's simple really, verdant defines as rich wi--"
"No, while you would adore sitting and reading in one of these organic, ancient castles, I would very much rather be sitting in a Starbucks drinking my coffee," Amber harshly interrupts.
"Amber, I understand, I just thought--"
"I’m going back to the city, it was nice seeing you. I hope to see you next Easter as well," Amber interrupts for the final time.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Dhanvi
All posts