Creative writing based on a childhood memory (perspective, 1st person)

Flaming Night(Story Fragment)

I was in a dreamless sleep when I heard the voice. Something you should know about me is that I'm a very light sleeper and can hear noises around me during the night very easily. This night I heard small popping noises which I chose to ignore as staying in my bed covered up with my blanket which was the way I deal with sounds that scared me through the night, but this night it was that and a voice. I opened my eyes gradually to my sister frantically speaking words too fast to comprehend for a person who just woke up at 3 am. She rambled on eyebrows furrowed hands grabbing my arm shaking it repeatedly and eyes teary.
“What?”
“Our car is on fire”
That phrase felt like a prank to me and my mind wandered to the date hoping for it to be April first, but it wasn’t. I got up hurriedly and ran to the large window on the side of our room. Our car was indeed in flames. Very large flames on the top of the car danced quietly on the vacant street. Questions raced through my mind but a hand pulling at my arm distracted me. Both of us hurriedly ran to our parent's room not bothering to knock at the door with the dire situation. A rushed explanation for us bargaining led our dad to our window viewing the scene for himself. The rest of the night felt like I was watching myself as another person. It was rushed, scary, and traumatizing. The entire night and the next morning one question was still unanswered. Who set our car on fire?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Mahroosh 552
All posts