The Great Hunt - Chapter 46 [#100Days, Day 70]

The Hill To Die On

    "I will not go back," Egwene said grimly.  "I'll die first.  Let me show them what they've taught me." ... "I will not go back to that collar," Egwene said fiercely.  "I won't!"
Egwene, The Great Hunt, p. 549-550

    "I did give my word," Domon said.  He wrenched the axe from Cole's hand and threw it clattering to the deck.  "I did give my word."
Bayle Domon, The Great Hunt, p. 551

    Bornhald put Byar out of his mind.  He had done what he could, there.  He raised his voice.  "The legion will advance at a walk!"
    With a creak of saddles the long line of white-cloaked men moved slowly toward Falme.

Geofram Bornhald, The Great Hunt, p. 551

    "It seemed the only way.  We would be destroyed for nothing, defending people who do not even know, or care.  It seemed logical.  Why should we be destroyed for them, when we could make our own peace?  Better the Shadow, I thought, than useless oblivion, like Carallain, or Hardan, or ..  It seemed so logical, then." ... "No man can walk so long in the Shadow that he cannot come again to the Light.  That is what they say." ... "You were ready to give it up to save a friend.  Think not of glory." ... After a time, Ingtar spoke again, firmly.  "There has to be a price, Rand.  There is always a price.  Perhaps I can pay it here." ... "It is every man's right, Rand, to choose when to Sheathe the Sword.  Even one like me."
Ingtar of House Shinowa, The Great Hunt, p. 552-553

    Shortly after her rescue, Egwene very nearly gets herself killed in her brash assault on Seanchan forces.  Domon can see the results of her fight from the harbor, continuing to wait even though his crew is rapidly losing their nerves.  Bornhald, no longer expecting to survive the events at Falme, order his legion to advance into the city.  And Ingtar, he bares his soul to Rand as he readies to hold rearguard - to the death.  All four show courage in the face of overwhelming odds. 

    To voice dissent, often times, is to know loneliness.  Organizations are not necessarily inviting of criticisms to plans; despite processes in place to welcome that very thing.  However, part of being a leader is standing firm and stating "No!" when warranted - especially when safety of personnel is at stake.  

"It's easy to stand with the crowd.  It takes courage to stand alone."
Mahatma Ghandi



You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from A Leader Reads
All posts