The flash

One of the nice things about my new home is any time of the day I can go for a walk, I can go one direction and see people, or another and I can almost guarantee I won't see a single soul.

Well a human soul anyway. Every walk I see something new, or at least notice it for the first time. A new type of bird, a field mouse (or at least I think, either way it was tiny and adorable), a red squirrel or a bird. But on today's walk I saw something I wasn't really expecting.

A lightning blue flash shot across my field of vision, the unmistakable metallic blue of a kingfisher. Despite not being particularly rare, their bright colours always make them a delight to spot.

Now if only I could see those pesky otters - apparently there are plenty of them, perhaps they're just shy.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from SeaToSea
All posts