Gear Review - Vertx Course of Fire Gloves

LINK
My Video Review COMING SOON

Price ~$52.99 usd


Rating Overview:

  • Dexterity - Pass
  • Durability - Pass
  • “Thenar Webspace” test - Pass
  • Comfort - Pass
  • Ergonomics - Pass

Good

  • Correct sizing
  • Touch-screen material works
  • Passes the “Thenar Webspace” test
  • Good breathability
  • Great palm ergonomics
  • Good dexterity
  • Great durability
  • Great materials
  • Great stitching
  • Smart middle finger trigger guard design

Bad

  • Crappy pull tab
  • Product tag is HUGE and obstructive

Positives

Fist things first, the sizing is spot on for these gloves. The only real complaint here is depending on what I am doing, on occasion, the material seam on the palm at the base of my left ring finger will get caught on my ring and push into my hand, causing slight pain. This is rare and when it does happen, it is easy to rectify. Then only feedback I would have for Vertx on this matter is maybe to slightly redesign that single seam, but this is such a small, infrequent thing that its not something to be concerned about unless you have really thick, sausage fingers that don't conform to the sizing scale provided by Vertx.

The touchscreen materials work perfectly and I only ran into issues when the material got really wet.

The “Thenar Webspace” test is damn near perfect. There is a very small amount of space between the glove and the actual webspace, but given the other material and design choices, when you grip, that gap is closed and you still have full index finger dexterity.

Breathability is great in even the hottest and most humid whether. The only area for improvement here would be if the materials were able to dry quicker. Compared to my P.I.G. Delta & Delta+ gloves, this was a disappointment. I found myself having to take these gloves off to let them dry after getting fully soaked, where as my aforementioned P.I.G. gloves would dry perfectly while still in use.

The palm ergonomics and materials are fantastic. Its sticky and grips in all the right areas and is abrasion-resistant in all the right areas. The only gripe I have with this also has to do with them getting wet. When either submerged or drenched, the leather parts of the palms lost their stickiness and became an issue for retention. Luckily, the grey materials on the palm side of the knuckles, is made out of a different material and was not affected by being wet, which allowed partial item retention.

The dexterity, materials and stitching are all amazing. No real complaints here.

Onward to the durability... I put these through pretty harsh use for about a year in camping, hiking, every day work, and, of course, shooting. Through all that, and multiple washings, the only real signs of wear are a noticeable, tactile overall thinning of the materials and on the right-middle finger a small hole has been forming. All and all, given the amount of hard use these have seen, they have held up exceptionally.

Finally, I would be negligent if I did not mention a slick little design choice Vertx made that I truly hope more glove designers consider in the future. On the middle finger of both gloves there is a patch of wrap-around leather material that sits pretty much between your Distal InterPhalangeal (DIP) and Proximal InterPhalangeal (PIP) joints. Why you might ask? Well, anyone has shot, especially for long periods of time, knows the answer. That is right where the trigger guard of your firearm sits. The material provides an extra barrier that legitimately does pad and reduce friction and trauma caused by recoil. I have many painful memories of having to qualify during annual in-service, when that specific part of my finger would be wrapped in multiple band aids, specifically to provide the exact protection that this design choice provides. The value of something like this cannot be emphasized enough


Negatives

As with all Vertx gloves, the pull tabs on the gloves are dinky and very inconveniently placed... in general they are just useless. I found myself ignoring them all together and using the cuff of the glove to pull it on and off.

Also, as with all Vertx gloves, they have the ungodly large, annoying and inconvenient tag. I do not understand why Vertx insists on this... what the hell Vertx? ... Do you really need that insanely large of a tag on these things? I have a number of Vertx's gear and the gloves are the only ones that suffer from this significant of a tag. Its comically large. Don't believe me, just watch my video review.


Final thoughts on the Vertx Course of Fire Gloves

These are an exceptional offering in the glove space from Vertx!

No issues with the 5 imperatives, no issues with general use, no real issues at all... sure there are a couple things I nitpicked about here and there, but in the grander scheme of things, these are worth every penny in my opinion.



You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Steve Chepp
All posts