Day 21 - Workin' a real job just ain't for me.

Today I actually went to work. Like a workplace. The place where people go to spend 8 hours of a day, a third of their precious 24 hours that they get each day that somehow gets allocated to trading their time for an hourly wage so that you can live some semblance of a life on the weekends and in the evening.

Can you tell I loved going to work today?

So here's the thing. For the last 18 months, I've worked remotely. I wake up, and 2 minutes later I open my laptop and I'm 'clocked on'. For me - it's a pretty good deal. It's not my perfect scenario, but hey until bitcoin hits $1mil a coin, I'm gunna have to keep doing something!

I forgot what it was like doing a 'normal' days work. Getting up, getting lunch sorted, 30 mins in the car each way, 8 hours at work, 30 mins home, get home at 5pm while the kids are running wild and run up to me and hug me, and tell me how much they missed me. Watching everybody else be a manic rush to get home, deal with traffic, blah blah blah. It blows my mind that people spend their whole lives, 40 odd years, doing this every single fucking day, 48 weeks a year, trading their precious time for an average wage that hardly pays the bills - only to think that the only way to get more money is to work harder and to work longer.

Fuck. That.

Time is literally the scarcest thing on the planet. Time with your family, your friends, time doing the things YOU love - and what sort of life do you want to have lived, 40 years from now, when you look back? Will you wish you worked more, or worked less?

Think about it.

See you tomorrow.

Adam
day#21


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Adam
All posts