2024-01-14 financial budgeting

Why

So apparently, after using the budgeting app Copilot, I discovered that I spent about $700 in coffee, and about $300 in milk tea in 2023. Clearly, things somehow got out of hand, and I did not even know it. Without the luxury of being able to track expenses, it becomes very easy to go way over budget for somewhat frivolous things that could be made at home. It’s interesting for me, because I have so many high-quality tea leaves and coffee beans at home. But, of course, convenience itself as a premium.

Reforms

With the new year 2024, I decided that it was time to probably start limiting expenses. After all, considering the dream car I want is going to cost $250,000, I probably should start saving right now. even though in the future, I can expect a $400,000 salary pretax, I still should save.

I’ve just started to use an actual budgeting app, as mentioned earlier called Copilot. I would say the thing that sold me on this app is the fact that their privacy policy is rather airtight, and at least in the legal fund print, states that your data will not be sold. That’s already reassuring enough for me. There’s also the use of artificial intelligence to smartly categorize transactions. And the interface itself seems to work quite well. Linking all my accounts together, so I can see all the balances I have available at once, is particularly useful.

Goals

save more damn money. And this means, less stupid transactions. We’ll see how that goes.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from amlodarone
All posts