2024-08-13 at the bedside

Indeed, title is accurate. I probably spent 1 or 2 hours at a patient's bedside in the ICU. Solely for trying to control blood pressure and constant checking up on vital signs. This is an extremely stable patient, but just with a very severe brain and brainstem hemorrhage (from AVM rupture) in an otherwise completely healthy person.

This made me think - hmm, the fact that I find it pretty extraordinary that I spent that long at the bedside - is not a good sign of the times. I was reminded by one of the attending friends I talk to, that nowadays, medicine is losing its focus on people and the human condition. I think one day I will need to work on finding 1 or 2 hours at the bedside a normal thing. Maybe medicine can move towards that again. I hope.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from amlodarone
All posts