#55 The soul of Cafés

I've acquired a new habit in the recent times. Working out of cafés. After two years of working from home, I realized chaotic environments help me focus better. I was able to focus better when the noise of a crowd played on my headphones. But, then I thought "why play recorded sounds of a crowd when I can actually be some place that has the real crowd?!"

I realized there is a Starbucks five minutes away from where I lived. So, I decided to give it a shot. And, I loved it! The place was well-lit, had Wi-Fi, had high ceilings, decent coffee, and a decent crowd. It's everything I'd wanted and longed for the past two years.

I've worked from different Starbucks outlets since then, but the one close to my home is different. I feel that the place has a character to it.

Cafés have a soul. Have you ever wondered why we end up loving some restaurants or cafés than others? Of course there is the food and the ambience. I think every café has a soul that emits it's own personality. We end up liking a café when we start vibing with it's personality. We feel we belong to that place.

But, seeing through that soul is not easy. A café lets you see through its soul only during off hours - when its empty. Because it is often drowned in a sea of conversations, chatter, gossip, fun, and some drama. In a way, a café suppresses its own personality to give space for others to bring out theirs.

When you're at an empty café, you can hear it speak to you.

For me, more than focus, cafés give me inspiration. Even though I only see people who belong to a certain class, it gives me a chance to observe them. And as a writer, observing people and being around them are crucial for me.

Another reason I love cafés is because they're a bit laid back compared to our traditional 'Bhavans' and 'Vilas' where we're often in a hurry. When you enter a Café, you know you're going to spend a few hours there. I love that. I wish the world had more Cafés.

P.S. This post was ideated and written from a café on an afternoon.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts