#64 The Promise I Made To My Bike

I bought my bike - a Discover 100 DTS-Si under difficult circumstances.

Even though I was working a full-time job, most of my salary went into re-paying the educational loan, paying bills, and managing the family expenses.

And a year later, I had to quit my job to do my master's degree and my pocket money for a whole month was ₹800. So, I never had a lot of money for fuel. I'll fill petrol for ₹50 and drive around. I never filled petrol beyond the reserve point. My bike always ran on reserve fuel back then.

Before starting the bike, I used to gently shake it, and listen to the sound of petrol crashing against the inside of the tank to know how much fuel was left.

Despite my best efforts, my bike ran out of fuel several times. But it never left me stranded in a random place. My bike would either run out of fuel in front of my house or in front of a petrol bunk. Every. Single. Time.

I still have no explanation on how it happened.

It was one of those days I promised my bike that once I start making enough money, I'll never let my bike get to the reserve point. And I started to keep my promise soon after. I switched to another bike five years back, but the promise I made to my Discover still continues.

Every living and non-living thing on this planet is made up of the same atoms. And, I believe all the objects in this world share a connection. Doesn't matter if it is a fellow human or a machine. The connection we share is genuine. I guess I had a such connection with my bike. It understood the situation I was in and managed to save my ass every single time.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts