nothing lasts forever

Nothing lasts forever. I have been sick for two weeks now. Whenever I get sick, I forget what it feels like to be healthy. The idea of going on a run seems crazy. Breathing has been difficult doing nothing. Or when I have a cut in my mouth. One day you wake up and you're not sick. Or the cut is gone. And the kicker is that you hardly notice. You being me. I hardly notice. After wishing to go back to normal, I hardly notice when things go back to normal.

It is the same with the seasons. Or any real loss or heartbreak. It feels like it will last forever. Every time. But it all passes. In summer, I cannot fathom winter. I see my jackets in the closet, but I forget what it feels like.

I guess good and bad, everything is ephemeral. If the good was always good, it wouldn't feel good anymore. And the bad is just as temporary. It is just difficult to convince myself of this sometimes, even when I know it to be true.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from be like water
All posts