the day slipped away

It is 22:35 and the clock is ticking. I still did not do my daily writing. I kept picking up old books and finding favorite quotes. Too many. I never picked one and wrote something. Just kept looking for something. Not sure what though. I think I kept finding topics I wanted to write about 'right'. As in not this short tiny thing. My perfectionism got the best of me. And the day slipped away.

Not to feel exasperated, or defeated, or despondent because your days aren't packed with wise and moral actions. But to get back up when you fail, to celebrate behaving like a human-however imperfectly-and fully embrace the pursuit that you've embarked on. — Marcus Aurelius Meditations 5.9

Today was not filled with wise and moral actions. But I connected with friends and had a nice bike ride. So the day was a win. I was human. That is all we can ask for.

Some days this daily writing will come easy. Some days it will be like pulling teeth. The point is to do it every day, even when I don't feel like it. Proving to myself that I can still write even when I don't want to. Just like I can still go on a run even when I don't feel like it. Inspiration comes from daily work. Daily work does not require me to be inspired.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from be like water
All posts