what would sustain us?

What would sustain us? We know what distracts us, what excites us, but what would sustain us? -James Hollis

This is a question that probably needs asking on a regular basis. The answer is always changing. I know the answers to what excites me and what distracts me without much thought. They are obvious and have remained more steady over the years.

One interpretation of this question is what would be enough for me? What would be enough to keep me going in a sustainable way? Balance in all the domains is what comes to mind. Mental, physical, and spiritual health. Taking care of myself from every dimension.

We are always thinking about what it is that we do not have or the figurative place we are trying to go. Maybe, by answering this question we realize that we already have more than enough. The only thing that we need is to look at things from a new perspective.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from be like water
All posts