The Hierarchy of Prestige Among States

🇺🇦 I did not realize the importance of the hierarchy of prestige among states. Now that I do, I understand why Ukraine insists on a complete victory over Russia. It will destroy Russia's prestige, and in turn, Russia's influence in the world while boosting Ukraine's prestige and influence. As Robert Gilpin noted in his book, War and Change in World Politics, it is one of the fews ways to create a systemic change in the world. It could potentially allow Ukraine to replace Russia as a dominant state in the international system.

I apologize for suggesting Ukraine should become a US territory temporarily. I was focused on a solution to protect Ukraine from missile attacks. I did not understand all of the long-term goals. My proposal would certainly not have accomplished this one. xo

More from Billie Pate
All posts