Embracing the Quiet

Originally published on December 1, 2016

Quiet can be unfamiliar. With a life dominated by noise, distractions, and chaos we don’t remember what it sounds like.

Quiet can feel tense, like a close-up shot in a suspenseful movie where we don’t know if the person is going to get attacked by surprise.

Quiet can be awkward. We may avoid the quiet so we don’t have to confront our own thoughts.

Quiet can be lonely, where you realize no one is there to keep you company.

I like the quiet because my brain can process what has happened during the day without other stimuli demanding attention.

I like the quiet because I don’t have to expend energy tracking someone’s voice in a crowded room.

I like the quiet because, eventually, a bunch of interesting thoughts pop into my head which never happen with noise surrounding me.

I like the quiet because it’s a valuable commodity in today’s society.

May we all embrace the quiet in our day…


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Quiet Perspective
All posts