What has COVID-19 taught us?

One of the sites I like to read each week is A Healthier Michigan. They are a good resource for health tips, some recipes, and general wellness articles.

A recent article from them, What the Pandemic Taught Us: Finding the Positive in a Tumultuous Year is in alignment with what I have been feeling most of 2020 and then some.

I won't deny that Covid is a thing, it exists in the world, people die because of it, but there are many positive things to take away from this year.

  1. We don't have as many activities. This is a good thing in many respects, because now we can truly focus on the the important things that are right in front of us.
  2. We see the people we live with more. Again, a family is some 22 minute sitcom family that says funny things, has a problem and fixes the problem in 22 minutes. A family needs time spent together, rubbing the rough edges out of us. Honing comes to mind.
  3. We spend more time with God (or should). This year, for me at least, has brought the closest I have been to God and it is amazing. A friend started a daily prayer group, that still meets to this day! We have encouraged each other, laughed a lot and cried a little bit too!
  4. We spend more time on exercise and walking. I've been running for about 6 years now, it doesn't really show. It does make me feel good, though. I try to walk on the days I don't run. It makes a huge difference and I get to listen to audiobooks or podcasts.
  5. We meet differently. Many businesses now really see the value of remote meetings and remote work. I've been doing this for a long time at my real job. Online meetings for work, friendship, prayer (see above), and family mget togethers. It has been challengin, but good overall.

2020 has been a year like no other, but it not the worst year ever. 2021 will bring it's own challenges just like every other year does. It matters how we handle it and I choose to remain positive.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Dennis
All posts