The Zygon War Speech from The Doctor

(From "The Zygon Inversion", in 9th series of Doctor Who)

...

"It's not fair."

"Oh it's not fair. Oh I didn't realize that -- it's not fair. You know what, my TARDIS doesn't work properly, and I don't have my personal tailor."

"These things don't equate."

"These things have happened. They are facts. You, just want cruelty to beget cruelty. You are not superior to people who are cruel to you. You are just a whole bunch of new cruel people. A whole bunch of ... you cruel people, being cruel to some other people, who end up being cruel to you. The only way that anyone can live in peace, is if they are prepared to forgive. Why don't you break the cycle?"

"Why should we?"

"... What is it that you actually want?"

"War."

"Ah, right. And when this war is over, when you have a homeland, free from humans, what do you think it's gonna be like? Do you know? Have you thought about it? Have you given it any consideration? Because you are very close to getting what you want. What's it gonna be like? Paint me a picture. Are you going to live in houses? Do all people go to work? Will there be holidays? Oh, will there be music? Do you think people will be allowed to play violins? Who's gonna make the violins? Well, ..., oh, you don't actually know, do you? Because, like every other tantruming child in history, Bonnie, you don't actually know what you want. So, let me ask you a question about this brave new world of yours. When you've killed all the bad guys, and when it's all perfect, and just, and fair, when you have finally got it, exactly the way you wanted, what are you going to do with people like you? The troublemakers. How are you going to protect your glorious revolution, from the next one?"

"We'll win."

"Oh, will you? Well, maybe. Maybe you will win. But nobody wins for long. The wheel just keeps turning. So come on, break the cycle."

"Why are you still talking?"

"Because I want to get you to see... and I'm almost there."

"Do you know what I see, Doctor? A box, a box with everything I need. A fifty percent chance -- for us two."

"Everyone fingers on buzzers! Are you feeling lucky? Are you ready to play the game? Who's gonna be quick and who's gonna be luckiest?"

"This is not a game."

"No, it's not a game sweetheart and I mean that most sincerely."

"And why are you doing this? ... You set this (the truth and consequences buttons) up, why?"

"Because it's not a game. This is a scaled model of war. Every war ever fought, right there in front of you. Because it's always the same. When you fire that first shot, no matter how right you feel, you have no idea who's going to die. You don't know who's children are going to scream and burn. How many hearts will be broken. How many lives shattered. How much blood will spill until everybody does what they were always going to have to do from the very beginning. SIT DOWN AND TALK. (Sighs) Listen to me, listen -- but I just, I just want you to think."

"I will not change my mind."

"Then you would die stupid. Alternatively, you could step away from that box. You could walk right out that door, and you can stand your revolution down."

"I'm not stopping this, Doctor. I started it, I will not stop it. You think they will let me go after what I have done?"

"You're all the same you screaming kids, you know that? Look at me, I'm unforgiveable. Well here's the unforseeable, I forgive you. After all you've done. I forgive you."

"You don't understand. You will never understand."

"I don't understand? Are you kidding me? Of course I understand. And you're calling this a war, this funny little thing? This is not a war. I fought in a bigger war than you will ever know, and it's the worst thing you could ever imagine. And when I close my eyes... I hear more screams than anyone could ever be able to count. And you know what you do with all that pain? Shall I tell you where you put it? You hold it tight, that burns your hand. And you say this: no one else will ever have to live like this. No one else will have to feel this pain. Not on my watch."

...

"It's empty, isn't it? Both boxes, there's nothing in them. Just buttons."

"Of course. You know how you know that? Because you've started to think. Like me. ... No one should have to think like that. And no one will. Not on my watch. ...Gotcha."


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Typeblog Random
All posts