The Rainstorm

I love the rain

Photo by Liv Bruce on Unsplash

This morning there was a nice thunderstorm. Wasn't in the forecast, but there was plenty of rain, and a nice gentle thunder. Almost like I was listening to one of those sounds of nature you have Alexa put on when you're trying to fall asleep.

I was about to go back to sleep when I remembered what I wrote about earlier this week about taking the time to enjoy the little things.

So, I woke up, and consciously listened to the rain and thunder. I didn't need to sit outside and look at the rain, as I was in my bed. Comfortable, safe, and completely relaxed. My wife was there, too, with neither of us having to be anywhere, or anything to have to do that couldn't wait.

We both just listened to the rain, and had a nice easy chat. Just the two of us, and the rain.

I'm glad I was able to enjoy this rain, and especially glad that my wife was there to enjoy it with me. Sounds cliche, maybe. But for that time, my heart and soul were filled with gratitude. Glad I didn't miss either opportunity to slow down and enjoy it all. A blessed man, indeed.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jay's Journal
All posts