Entry 3

It's Christmas Day, and this evening I'm sitting inside alone, skimming through old emails in one of many accounts I've created over the years. The new year is right around the corner, and apart from the canned sentiments surrounding making new year resolutions that inevitably fall through, I am filled with a sense of dread. I am always running away from something in my past. Parsing the messages I have sent to people and what they have returned in kind, I can't help but feel both nostalgic and depressed. Some people look back at fond memories with rose-tinted glasses. Myself, I prefer to surround myself with distractions and grand schemes that draw me toward a brighter future. One where I don't have to recall the mistakes made in my youth, that seems to haunt me for an eternity of late-nights.

Maybe I can finally get help regarding the ADHD, and devote a small parcel of time for these prayers in the form of journaling moving forward.

Amen


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from john
All posts