#60 The vibe of Middle-class bars

I think about the weirdest things when I’m out on a walk. This time I thought about beer. “Some beer and fried chicken would be nice” I told myself. I then ignored the thought and continued walking. I stopped a few hundred meters from home to catch my breath. I looked up at the sky, but a neon signage blocked my view. The signage said “bar”. It was a message from the universe.

I listen to the universe. So, I went in and took the corner table. The bar was empty, cold, and the entire place was filled with dull blue light. The place did not have a DJ, but had TVs playing songs from Isaiaruvi. It reminded me of Roshini gym which used to play songs from Sun music to motivate us.

I ordered beer and a plate of chicken 65 (Fried chicken wasn’t on the menu). The waiter brought in a bottle of Carlsberg and poured it in a mug for my convenience. He also served small quantities of boiled kabuli chana, potato chips, some salad, fryumms, and rasa vada. They came free with every order, he said. The service was decent, the food was great, and I ended up having a good time.

Low-end bars are filled with lungi clad men, crushed plastic glasses, walls filled with hologram stickers from bottle caps, dirty tables, and spicy foods. High-end bars on the other hand are too clean, too expensive, and has a menu that you can’t understand even while you’re sober.

Middle class bars are the hidden havens of every city. You can spot them in every area. They are often situated on the first or second floors, have tinted windows, and a bright neon signage. They’re nice, affordable, and let you drink at peace. A perfect place for the middle class crowd to wind down and have a good time. Nobody bothers you. They smile at you. Make small talk for a while and go back to having their drink. A nice place to escape reality and enjoy your own company.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts