#61 There is more to a car

My favorite pastime these days is having lunch in my car. I buy takeaway from a random biriyani shop, park my vehicle under a tree on some random road, turn up the AC, and eat the biriyani from the back seat of my car while listening to RJ Balaji’s ‘Naalana murukku’ podcast.

A car to me is more than a vehicle. It is my personal space. An extension of my home. My ticket to freedom. Truth be told, outside of my home, I am my true self when I am in my car. I put on my favorite song and sing along as I drive through the empty roads. I drive to faraway tea shops at 5 AM in search of good medhu vada. I park my car at random places across the city to read pages from my Kindle. And, I’ve shared many amazing conversations with my wife during our drive to the beach.

A car lets you experience summer without too much sweating and rain without getting drenched. It takes you to new destinations - places that have been on your list for too long and sometimes to places that aren’t on your list. It’s a serendipity machine. It brings you in contact with new culture, people, and some amazing restaurants. If not for my car, I wouldn’t have explored the beautiful lanes of Karaikudi, the pristine beaches of Gokarna, the marvelous ruins of Hampi, and the scenic roads of Mannavanur.

A car sees you at your best and your worst. And, it stands by you no matter what. This might sound silly, but a car eventually becomes your friend. A loyal one. I know it’s just a machine and it is bound to be replaced. But, to love them and care for them as long as they’re yours is the respect you give to the machine for everything it’s done and doing for you.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts