#72 Society makes us feel guilty for spending our money

Earlier this year, I wanted to buy a MacBook. I had the money, but something was stopping me from buying it. I felt guilty for no reason. I thought what if my mom thinks I'm irresponsible! What if my friends judge me for spending so much money on a laptop!

But then my wife said, "Why are you feeling guilty? If you have the money, and if you need that laptop, just go and buy it. Don't worry about others."

We're often surrounded by this imaginary guilt that stops us from buying what we want. Whenever we make money, our society wants us to give it back, instead of spending it for ourselves.

We often see this on social media. When actors or CEOs don't donate for a cause, people would say things like, "they're making so much money. Why didn't they donate to cause x?".

This happens at our homes too. When we earn more, our parents and family makes us feel guilty about spending it. They scare us by saying "Imagine where we came from. What if we become poor again? Why spend so much money for a trip or why eat at an expensive place? We shouldn't dream too much..." The list of reasons go on and on...

If we don't spend money thinking "what if we become poor again?", What's the point of having money!

I strongly believe that philanthropy shouldn't be forced. When you earn money it's upto you to give it back to the society or keep it for yourself. And our life becomes meaningful only when we make ourselves happy. Once we're happy and have enough savings, we can happily donate for a cause if we wish.

So shed that guilt. If you've saved enough for an emergency, have all the necessary insurance place, and have enough surplus, go buy that thing that you've wanted to. And buy it today.

(Written on my MacBook)


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts