#76 When in crisis, talk to a therapist

The title of this essay might have made you think “Isn’t it obvious?”. But, how many of us have gone to a therapist when we faced a crisis? When we felt angry, stressed, or anxious? We never did. During such moments, we either think “This too will pass” or chug down a few beers assuming it will make us feel better.

I was no different. I never realized I had unprocessed grief from my dad’s death. I was suffering from anxiety and depression. Like all the others, I thought “This too shall pass”. But, even after five years, it didn’t pass.

Instead, it started affecting me even further. I got a wake-up call when I suffered a panic attack sometime last year. I thought my life was going to end. But, the doctor said it was ‘just’ a panic attack. After a lot of thinking, I started seeing a therapist.

I didn’t feel much difference during the first few sessions. But, I understood it was a slow process. Time went by and I started feeling better. I spoke my heart out during my sessions. I was angry, and honest, and discovered several unprocessed and unrealized feelings about my parents and childhood.

By the end of my six-month therapy process, I came to terms with my dad’s demise. I knew him better than when he was alive. After six years of struggle, I finally said goodbye to my father. If I had had that unprocessed grief any longer, it would’ve manifested into something toxic and would’ve made my life miserable. I’m happy that I took the step. A bold yet essential one.

Don’t worry about what others will say. Only you know what you’re going through. No one else does. So, don’t care.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts