#77 Find ways to process your emotions

Whenever there's an arguement and I raise my voice, my mom would immediately say "There are people around us, living in other flats, Karthik. What would they think?" It was cue for me to lower my voice and suppress my anger. Only in those moments, I often think "What would they think? They would think I'm angry. What else would they think?" But, to be honest, why should I regulate my emotion wondering what would my neighbor think of me? Why should I care?.

As humans we have basic rights for everything (at least on paper). But, we never really get to exercise our right to express our emotions without being aware of our surroundings.  When you laugh, nobody comes your way and says "don't laugh too much, there are people around you." When you get all teary-eyed during a happy moment, nobody asks you to stop. Instead, they (the media and YouTube videos) refer to the moment as "heartwarming".

But, when you express negative emotions like fear, anger, or disgust, the emotion police comes into the picture. Some random person , even a passerby, will come and advice you to control your emotion. And, the worst part is, we take their advice. We push those emotions deep within ourselves and move on. From my experience, I know that keeping those emotions locked inside us is harmful. All that he pent up anger and fear causes serious damage if left untreated.

So, find a way to process that anger or fear. I'm not saying hit another vehicle and unleash your anger in the form of a road rage. Instead, try to process that anger in some other form. I sing-along my favorite song at a high pitch, I write in my journal before I go to bed, I blow up buildings and trucks in a video game, lift weights at the gym (when I go to the gym), headbang to fast beat Tamil songs, and so on. It helps me. I'm not suggesting you follow the same. Find your thing. It's a bit of a trial and error. But, it helps your mental health.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts