Day 0: Nothing to hide

Hello world.
This is me, Emilia, and I have never written a blog before. Stories, songs, essays, sure. But this is day 0 of being a blogger.

The reason I'm starting this little project is fairly simple: I want to get better.
For the last few years, I've struggled with my mental health. A lot. There are things in my life to justify that struggle, I might write about them someday. Therapy has helped immensely, and my boyfriend has supported me in more ways than could ever be expected of anyone, and yet one thing keeps occurring:
Something remotely bad or frustrating happens and I start spiralling into the darkness. Everything seems shit, the world unfair, and all my hopes in vain.
I don't want to feel like this anymore.
My therapist has told me to focus on the positives in those situations, but how do you even do that?
I suppose this blog is my answer to it. Change requires effort, that much I know, and even though I resent having to fight through this, I want to try and leave my pessimistic self behind -- it only hurts others and myself in trying to protect me -- and become someone better. Someone good.
Things won't magically be fixed, and bad shit will keep happening. But I hope while writing here (and going to therapy), I will learn how to deal with that in healthy ways.

If you're like me, dear reader, don't give up hope. Let us do this together, let us fight, and win all these small battles, with more confidence every time.

Peace out,
Emilia


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Emilia
All posts