Something small

Almost missed this one.

Fortunately, the reason why I almost did -- and why this will be a short post -- is the same why I'm writing this at all.

Sometimes, the good things, the magic moments of your life, they flood the time you thought you had. At least that's what happened to me today.

This is not normally a piece of advice I'd give, since I don't think it is generally applicable, but: ROMANTICISE YOUR LIFE!

Of course, it's also important to be realistic at times, and yet there is something so healing about choosing to see everything around you through rose-tinted glasses. Slow, morning cuddles with the person you love. Talking to each other about the dreams you had, your voices still sleepy and your words slurred. Making coffee together and watching the squirrels outside bury their nuts.

And then, after a day packed with activities, disappointments, new hopes and happiness, you lay on the sofa with your family, sneak kisses when no one is looking, and giggle as if they hadn't seen.

I'd rather walk with my partner along moonshine-lit streets to buy our favourite cheap wine at the supermarket, just to get tipsy watching a great movie, than be frustrated and depressed at the current state of the world, which might be more realistic (and justified), but gets me no further than the more gentle, kinder option, kinder both towards my partner and towards myself.

I think that is my message for today: Be kind to yourself, and don't let the cruel world take away your little moments of happiness.

Peace out,
Emilia


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Emilia
All posts