Field Season Chaos

Been a little since my last post but I went through an assortment of trainings and a few hitches in the field. This season is going to be a bit rough. Smaller crew, fresher crew (no previous experience), and a wild weather season. This is the second season in my career where flooding of sites has become an issue. Last year, it was drought, heat, and fire hazards. This year it is grasslands submerged in water, washed out roads, and dirt roads of clay you can easily get stuck for days on if they are wet. An ideal season would be a happy in-between where there is just enough precipitation to keep things green but not enough to prevent work.

On the plus side, I have already been to quite a few areas with gorgeous landscapes that I likely would never have even thought to go to prior.

I have some serious fine-tuning of the crew so we can be more efficient and have things flow better so it has been off to a rough start. Hopefully I can help build some better field skills for my crew and they can make it through the season intact and sane.

Current mood: #hopefulweasel


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from HpyOuiZl
All posts