getting things done with SN

I've started using standard notes last year in October and it worked well. Then after a few months I've decided to go Extended and since then I'm using SN's full potential. And it's smashing.

I'm keeping all kinds of information here in SN, including some planning notes. My GTD setup here goes like that:

  • A tag to group all plans with fixed dates: #plan.
  • Per-day notes with titles like 05.19, containing lists of tasks I've planned for a particular day.
  • A bunch of tags to keep track of topics not related to dates:
    • #presents - ideas for birthday, Xmas and other presents;
    • #reading - links to stuff I'd like to read later (I'm not using Firefox Pocket);
    • #media - music and films I'd like to watch some day.

Of course posts for Listed are going to be tagged with #writing.

Whenever a bigger topic shows up, I create a new tag for it and add notes there. (For instance, I used to keep all my vacation-planning notes under #Cuba.) I've also got two tags to categorize notes as related to work or my private activities: #@WORK and #@HOME.

And that's it. Works very well for me and I think it's quite simple. Helps me a lot, esp. when I need to write something down quickly (GTD record phase). Later I can (re)assign notes' tags or split their contents between other notes.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from pfm
All posts