Boghossian's letter

Under the article, a commenter referred to the "Social Justice factory" as "The Church of Woke", implying that an ideology has become cult that you cannot opt out of; I happen to agree with this take. from a European perspective, this degree of censorship seems foreign to me, I simply do not identify with American puritanism. If anything, the universities actions are a "microagression" against the students. As a student, I find it insulting that educational institutions infantilise us, as though we could not possibly fathom that someone has an opposing opinion. Who is to decide what we can and cannot know?

As I am studying the arts next year, I would feel robbed of an education if someone were to attempt to censor a potentially inspiring point of view with the objective of getting to subscribe to a particular agenda. Because what is the point of being an artist without experiencing discomfort?

I begin to wonder wether the terminology associated with "woke" ideologies is actually applied in real life, it seems to me that it is exclusive to an online Social Justice warrior subculture; is seems disingenuine and performative.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Poppy
All posts